My Paleo Eating Journal

Goal’s End, Squash Fries, and Paleo Bread

Posted on: November 17, 2011

So my weight has held constant at around 137 lbs for these last few weeks since I returned from travelling. I couldn’t be happier with my weight loss, which is 5 lbs lower than the goal weight I had originally set for myself. I look and feel really good, have put away the “fat pants” and have treated myself to a couple pairs of new cords this month. I could probably get even lower if I focussed harder on my carb intake and cut down a bit on the nuts, but I’m happy where I am and I’m loving the foods I eat so I’m happy to stay put right here.

Meanwhile, with fall here (and winter close at hand: we got our first snowfall yesterday) I’ve been enjoying some wonderful new recipes and I wanted to share a few of my favourites.

First, I am completely in love with Squash of all kinds. I toss spaghetti squash in chunks of organic butter and grate real parmesan cheese over it. Makes a fabulous side dish for pork sausages. I also like roasted squash but I used to do it with maple syrup or brown sugar and it wasn’t quite the same otherwise. Then I found out about SQUASH FRIES.

My first clue was a recipe posted on a Paleo blog for Delicata Squash Fries. I’d seen lots of these squash around; they grow well here and several local farms sell them. So I picked one up and followed the incredibly simple recipe: just cut the squash into french-fry size slices (after scooping out the seeds of course), toss them in olive oil and sea salt and pepper, then bake them at 425 for about 30 minutes, flipping them over at least once partway through. Delicata are one of the few squashes with edible skin. It’s actually quite tasty! Anyways, I dipped them in mayonnaise that I’d spiked with paprika and OMG it was sinfully delicious!! Then I learned you can do this with other kinds of squash so later I tried Acorn Squash Fries and they were equally delightful (though I peeled these). I’ve since bought a few squashes so I can have this delicious treat around any time I want – the bonus is that squash keep super well just out on the countertop and they make the place look very festive for fall.

And speaking of squash, last year I was enjoying a lovely Butternut Squash soup recipe from a book I have, but it contained potatoes and I was wondering if I could find something just as thick and tasty without the extra carbs and starch. I tried this recipe for Spiced Apple and Butternut Squash soup and fell in love. Making the soup is very satisfying, as the squash is roasted in the oven first. Our local farmers sell lots of butternut squash around this time of year and it keeps a long time so it’s easy to have a few around so there is always soup to be had!

My second great recipe to share is Paleo Bread. This isn’t like sandwich bread, it’s more the texture of banana bread or zucchini bread. It’s a dense loaf with a lovely, nutty flavour to it. It’s not sweet at all but tastes delicious with a slab of organic butter on top. I eat a couple slices with my soup for lunch, sometimes if the morning is busy I’ll have a couple slices with my tea for breakfast. What I love about this is it isn’t “pretend bread”, it’s not trying to recreate a “forbidden” food with a really substandard knock-off that only makes you long for the real thing. This is an honest to goodness “loaf” with no grains and only 1 tbsp of honey (which you could probably leave out since I don’t notice it).

Leave a Reply

The Basics

My way of eating is based on a Paleo/Primal diet and is comprised mainly of saturated animal fat (grass-fed meat, pastured eggs, butter), nuts and seeds (almonds, pecans, macadamia nuts, coconut, pumpkin seeds) and their oils (coconut oil, avocado oil) and lots of vegetables and fruit. I eat virtually no sugar (other than that contained naturally in fruit), potatoes or sweet potatoes, beans or legumes, and no grains or grain products.

Weight Loss Tracker

Start date: May 13, 2011
Total weight loss (updated every Sunday): 19.5 lbs

