My Paleo Eating Journal

Happy

Posted on: August 30, 2011

It’s such a nice feeling to walk by a mirror and go “wow”. I’ve almost lost the vacation pounds, my weigh-in this past Sunday was 139 and as of today I’m down to 138. In a few more days I’ll see if I can beat my current all-time low of 137.5. To put this in perspective, I haven’t weighed this little since 1999. It’s 5 pounds less than my original goal weight and there is no end in sight. I like that the weight loss is slow and steady, about 1 – 2 lbs per week so long as I don’t indulge. But the fun part is I *can* indulge knowing that I can “be good” for the next week and lose anything I gained in the process.

Honestly, this is just too easy!

I’ve been good this week. Ben and Jerry’s ice cream was on sale at the supermarket and I bought a tub for myself because it was such a good deal. It’s been sitting in the freezer for a few days now and I’m still gonna save it. This was unheard of in my previous life as a carboholic. Meanwhile I’ve been sticking to good, healthy foods. Bacon and eggs, pork sausages with spaghetti squash is a new favorite (I toss the squash in butter and parmesan cheese), and there’s a pork roast marinating in the fridge which I’ll cook all day tomorrow for pulled pork. A homegrown chicken is also defrosting in the fridge. Lunch today was creamy (read: high fat) hvarti cheese with almonds and grapes.

I love going against the grain and eating these foods, which I call Healthy (because they are!), that so many people think of as sinful. It is so contrary to everything our society believes about food. I was on this forum recently where we were talking about taking care of ourselves for the sake of our marriage and this one woman was ranting because she was cutting all the enjoyable foods (read: fat) out of her diet and working out all the time and even though she’d lost 35 lbs she felt it so wasn’t worth it because she was miserable. I just shook my head reading about her weight loss plan. It doesn’t have to be that hard, people!! Okay, I’m a bit zealous given me and my husband’s amazing results from this diet (he’s lost over 40 pounds, and he doesn’t exercise at all!) but it just makes me feel sad for people who, like this woman, are resenting every trip to the gym, every calorie they pass up, every food that is truly satiating…if only they knew.

Here’s a radical suggestion to anybody who’s open to it. Forget the calorie counting, forget regimented workouts (though a good brisk walk outside a few times a week will do you wonders), say Yes to bacon (from pastured pigs) and eggs (farm fresh from pastured chickens), pour on some more olive oil, fry what you’re eating in coconut oil or butter…just cut out the carbs (they’re okay in moderation, it’s not a death sentence for dessert) and the crappy fats (stick to pastured animal fats, coconut and avocado oils) and watch the pounds fall off. I wish I’d discovered this years ago, but better late than never. Now I just wanna shout it to the world!…. but people like that are obnoxious. ;-p

Leave a Reply

The Basics

My way of eating is based on a Paleo/Primal diet and is comprised mainly of saturated animal fat (grass-fed meat, pastured eggs, butter), nuts and seeds (almonds, pecans, macadamia nuts, coconut, pumpkin seeds) and their oils (coconut oil, avocado oil) and lots of vegetables and fruit. I eat virtually no sugar (other than that contained naturally in fruit), potatoes or sweet potatoes, beans or legumes, and no grains or grain products.

Weight Loss Tracker

Start date: May 13, 2011
Total weight loss (updated every Sunday): 19.5 lbs

