My Paleo Eating Journal

How Low Can I Go?

Posted on: August 25, 2011

A couple of weeks ago my weekly weigh-in revealed an exciting development. For the first time in over 10 years my weight has sunk into the 130’s. At first I thought it may have been a fluke, but I maintained that weight over the next week until we headed off on a camping trip. There I indulged in pancakes, beer, chips, and other naughty things. Upon my return I found I’d gained only a couple of pounds and already after a few days back on my normal diet the weight is dropping again and I should be back in the 130’s by next week’s weigh-in. My new low is 137.5 and we’ll see if I can get even lower than that as the weeks roll by. I feel great, and as I’ve said before if I go no lower I don’t mind at all. But I can’t get this thought out of my mind that I have slowly been gaining weight since my late twenties, and with no real explanation for that, other than the slow creep of hidden carbs. And, I’ve said this before too – it’s still amazing to me that my sweet tooth has been tamed, and that I continue to lose weight while eating satisfying healthy fats like those in nuts and meats. With a freezer full of home-grown chicken and a huge batch of pork coming in October when our pigs are processed, we’re looking ahead to continuing with this wonderful eating lifestyle. Bring on the Bacon!

Leave a Reply

The Basics

My way of eating is based on a Paleo/Primal diet and is comprised mainly of saturated animal fat (grass-fed meat, pastured eggs, butter), nuts and seeds (almonds, pecans, macadamia nuts, coconut, pumpkin seeds) and their oils (coconut oil, avocado oil) and lots of vegetables and fruit. I eat virtually no sugar (other than that contained naturally in fruit), potatoes or sweet potatoes, beans or legumes, and no grains or grain products.

Weight Loss Tracker

Start date: May 13, 2011
Total weight loss (updated every Sunday): 19.5 lbs

