My Paleo Eating Journal

Plateau, Schmateau!

Posted on: August 1, 2011

So I thought I had reached a plateau with my weight loss, but I weighed myself yesterday to find I’d lost another 2 pounds. After the beer and ice cream of the previous week’s vacation I was really sick of sweets (god, did I ever believe those words would come out of my mouth? no!) and stuck to my usual eating habits this past week. And whattaya know? I lost weight.

As I’ve said many times before, 142 lbs has been my “ideal weight” for years, as it was the lowest I could get with previous diet plans without starving myself. Those plans hadn’t been working for the last couple of years anyway, but still in my mind that was a good goal weight. I’m sitting at 140 lbs as of this morning and faced with the possibility that I could actually sink into the 130’s for the first time since 1999, when a broken relationship finally crumbled and sent me into a depression-fuelled 25 lb weight loss (nothing like cigarettes and loss of appetite to keep a girl’s figure) that didn’t last long anyways. I think the last time I was consistently under 140 must have been in the early ’90s. I haven’t even been doing any exercise, since the dog pulled a tendon a couple weeks ago and I’ve been reluctant to overdo it with her. We just started going for walks again on Saturday.

One last word, relating to my sugar comment above. Last night I wasn’t hungry around dinner time but later that evening I was, and I decided to go for the easiest snack around at the time – a bowl of my daughter’s Gorilla Munch cereal (basically Corn Pops with an environmental twist to the marketing). It was sheer laziness plus the dim memory of enjoying sweet cereals and figuring I could afford such a cheat. I very soon regretted it, my tummy was not feeling happy and frankly I didn’t even enjoy it while I was eating it. This from a girl who spent almost 10 years starting off most mornings with a heaping bowl of Frosted Mini-Wheats. The thought of that now makes me feel ill. I love that.

Leave a Reply

The Basics

My way of eating is based on a Paleo/Primal diet and is comprised mainly of saturated animal fat (grass-fed meat, pastured eggs, butter), nuts and seeds (almonds, pecans, macadamia nuts, coconut, pumpkin seeds) and their oils (coconut oil, avocado oil) and lots of vegetables and fruit. I eat virtually no sugar (other than that contained naturally in fruit), potatoes or sweet potatoes, beans or legumes, and no grains or grain products.

Weight Loss Tracker

Start date: May 13, 2011
Total weight loss (updated every Sunday): 19.5 lbs

