My Paleo Eating Journal

Smooth Sailing

Posted on: July 28, 2011

After my holiday cheat week I was surprised to discover that I hadn’t, in fact, gained any weight. I’m still holding steady at 142 (or 142.5 – it seems to vary and I’m certain at this point that my scale is not accurate to less than a pound). I’ve also been on a big fruit kick this week with all the lovely summer fruits in season right now.

I’m pretty happy with my eating these days and I feel like I may have reached a plateau in terms of weight loss. I’m not sure I’m going to lose any more weight unless I start making some more changes to things, but on the other hand the “carb trap” can lead to slow and steady weight gain that takes years to show up (this may partly explain why we continue to gain weight even after we stop growing in height). It’s possible that my weight loss has simply slowed. If I was wanting to push things I would tweak my diet to be even more Paleo: cutting down on my fruit intake and replacing some of my nuts-and-seeds meals with animal fats. But I’m not going to do that because I feel fantastic in my body these days and I’m enjoying the foods I eat (and the little cheats along the way). I feel like I’m eating in a way that is totally sustainable (in the sense that I’m not missing out on things that I’ll ultimately be tempted to go back to; I’m not being deprived of any wonderful foods that I can’t enjoy in moderation) and that has to be the ultimate mark of success for any change in diet.

According to this online calculator, my BMI is now a healthy 22.9 which puts me in the normal range. However, from that point on the information online gets confusing. The same website says I’m in the 19th percentile for BMI according to my age. However, according to this site my ideal weight is 133 lbs. That would put my BMI at 21.5. Hard to imagine that over 80% of women my age have a higher BMI and yet I could still stand to lose another 10 lbs. Nevertheless, ultimately I think we have to rely on our own sense of how we feel in our body in order to determine where we are with our weight. Averages are just that, and we can’t all be sitting on the median either. I feel great these days, and if this is as far as it goes I’m very happy.

Leave a Reply

The Basics

My way of eating is based on a Paleo/Primal diet and is comprised mainly of saturated animal fat (grass-fed meat, pastured eggs, butter), nuts and seeds (almonds, pecans, macadamia nuts, coconut, pumpkin seeds) and their oils (coconut oil, avocado oil) and lots of vegetables and fruit. I eat virtually no sugar (other than that contained naturally in fruit), potatoes or sweet potatoes, beans or legumes, and no grains or grain products.

Weight Loss Tracker

Start date: May 13, 2011
Total weight loss (updated every Sunday): 19.5 lbs

