My Paleo Eating Journal

Holiday Eating

Posted on: July 25, 2011

I just came back from a holiday spent with two families that are dear friends of ours. We decided to do meal sharing where each family would responsible for one breakfast and one dinner to feed 14 people. Of those 14 people two eat no grains/potatoes/beans (me and hubby), two are on a gluten-free/casein-(dairy)-free diet (my kids), one is gluten-free, and five eat no pork or beef. However, it all went well and it was surprisingly easy to accommodate everybody’s needs. On our breakfast day we whipped up a batch of 2 dozen farm-fresh eggs, 2 pounds of our home-raised bacon, 1/2 pound of turkey bacon, and two lots of hash browns – one made from potatoes and the other from jicama (it was supposed to be all jicama but one of them turned out to be rotten inside). Our dinner was kabobs done on the BBQ: pork in a mango chutney/lime marinade, beef in teriyaki marinade, and chicken in teriyaki marinade, with zucchini, peppers, and mushrooms.

I confess I cheated a little. I had a wee bit of rice on Thai curry chicken night, I had a small serving of potato salad on BBQ salmon night, I had ice cream (burgandy cherry – my favorite!) on two nights, and on my paleo cereal with yogurt I had cherry jam (homemade with fresh cherries brought down from the Okanagan). So a bit more sugar than I would normally do, and a few nibbles of rice/potatoes here and there. Oh, and I drank a couple of beers and some amazing fresh mango daquiris. But nothing too major. I will weigh myself tomorrow morning in place of yesterday’s scheduled weigh-in. I won’t be surprised if I’ve gained a pound or so, but it will be easily shed now that we are back home again.

One of the things I really appreciate about being on this type of eating plan is that it’s a free choice, and that means I’m free to cheat too. I don’t have dietary or health issues that make me pay later for cheating. For example, one of the adults in our group who is gluten-free gets panic attacks and insomnia when she eats wheat: a pretty intense motivator to stay true to her eating plan! My kids are on the sort of diet that there simply cannot be any compromise with (at least not right now during the elimination stage) and that makes it so very much harder (for them and me, who has to find replacements for everything they can’t have that others get). But for me I know I can indulge in the occasional cheat and suffer no consequences. The truth is I don’t crave any foods and I don’t miss many either, although having them around can be hard (like when one of our friends made his famous crepes for breakfast, served with nutella!), but I’m so happy to have shed the pounds that it’s keeping me on the straight and narrow. Most importantly, I have finally figured out what makes me fat in the first place, so if I do get sloppy and the weight starts to creep up I’ll know exactly what to do to get it back down again. It’s a great feeling of control over my body and my weight, and I’m so happy to have found the key to all of this for me.

Leave a Reply

The Basics

My way of eating is based on a Paleo/Primal diet and is comprised mainly of saturated animal fat (grass-fed meat, pastured eggs, butter), nuts and seeds (almonds, pecans, macadamia nuts, coconut, pumpkin seeds) and their oils (coconut oil, avocado oil) and lots of vegetables and fruit. I eat virtually no sugar (other than that contained naturally in fruit), potatoes or sweet potatoes, beans or legumes, and no grains or grain products.

Weight Loss Tracker

Start date: May 13, 2011
Total weight loss (updated every Sunday): 19.5 lbs

