My Paleo Eating Journal

Jicama Hash Browns and other Yummy Recipes

Posted on: July 12, 2011

I wanted to share some new recipes I’ve found that are so sinfully delicious you will never miss eating grains and potatoes again.

Jicama Hash Browns: If you don’t know what jicama is, it’s a root vegetable that tastes somewhat like a watery but more flavourful potato. Thankfully it only has 1/3 the carbs of a potato, which makes it a-ok for Paleo folks. Yesterday I stumbled across a recipe for jicama hash browns. I’d always eaten it raw, dipping it into nut butters, and it makes for a delicious snack. But I’d never thought of cooking it as a potato substitute. Today for lunch I made jicama hash browns and ate them with two fried eggs (everything fried in coconut oil). It was absolutely delicious! Chop up some onion, fry it in your oil of choice until translucent, then add grated jicama, salt and pepper to taste. It’s while eating meals like this that I marvel one can lose weight and stay healthy eating such wonderfully satisfying foods. Of course, we know now that fat is not the problem, and healthy fats do a body good. But there is something really…dare I say “primal”?…about the enjoyment and satisfaction of eating good healthy fats. The taste buds sing, the mouth celebrates, and the body enjoys that wonderful feeling of having been satiated in the best way possible. It’s hard to eat meals like this and deny that we are designed to eat these foods.

Salmon Cakes: I’ve never eaten canned salmon before, it always seemed pretty gross to me. But I have enjoyed crab cakes at restaurants. I recently bought a can of salmon from Raincoast Trading, on my mother’s suggestion for a salmon salad recipe. However, when I found this recipe I couldn’t resist giving it a try. It was fantastic. I served it with a dressing made of mayonnaise and Naam Miso Gravy. With a heaping side of fresh salad it was the perfect meal. As a bonus, it is easy to make and I took it with me on a recent solo camping trip. I mixed up the ingredients except for the celery and onion and almond meal. At my campsite I mixed it together and fried it in raw butter. Easy peasy and so good! And as a bonus it also works well with canned tuna (though I confess I like the salmon better).

Sausage-Cheddar Balls: I’ve got Martha Stewart to thank for this recipe. Cheese is a no-no for some paleo folks, but for those of us who are still enjoying dairy these baked meatballs are a very tasty, easy to make snack that can also be added to a side dish as a meal. I substitute almond flour for the white flour it calls for – and if you do this use a lot less. I add it last, and gradually, until the texture is right. Too much and the balls will come out too dry. They keep well and can also be frozen.

Leave a Reply

The Basics

My way of eating is based on a Paleo/Primal diet and is comprised mainly of saturated animal fat (grass-fed meat, pastured eggs, butter), nuts and seeds (almonds, pecans, macadamia nuts, coconut, pumpkin seeds) and their oils (coconut oil, avocado oil) and lots of vegetables and fruit. I eat virtually no sugar (other than that contained naturally in fruit), potatoes or sweet potatoes, beans or legumes, and no grains or grain products.

Weight Loss Tracker

Start date: May 13, 2011
Total weight loss (updated every Sunday): 19.5 lbs

