My Paleo Eating Journal

Weekly Weigh-In, Week 8

Posted on: July 10, 2011

Today’s Weight: 143.5 lbs

Thoughts: Well, no weight loss this week but I am not surprised. Three times this past week I have indulged in a bottle of beer with dinner. I have also been eating a ton of fruit (it’s so fresh and yummy right now) and treated myself to a big bag of teriyaki beef jerky (the commercial junk which is high in sugars) and a decadently sweet 65% mint dark chocolate bar for a recent solo camping trip.

But ’tis not a time for sadness or guilt. I’m 1.5 lbs away from my “ideal weight” and I feel fantastic. I can fit in all my old clothes again. People tell me I’m looking good, though weight loss is not their first guess. I suppose 10 lbs is not really a huge change, but it feels like it to me. If I don’t lose any more weight I’ll consider this a success. Though I’m still hoping I can cut back a couple more pounds…I think 140 has a nice ring to it.

Meanwhile I tried a new recipe tonight: butter chicken. I just made the butter this morning from raw milk. We served it over a bed of broccoli slaw, which added a nice crunch and a good dose of veggies. Deeee-licious! How can you go wrong with a diet that includes curries?!

Leave a Reply

The Basics

My way of eating is based on a Paleo/Primal diet and is comprised mainly of saturated animal fat (grass-fed meat, pastured eggs, butter), nuts and seeds (almonds, pecans, macadamia nuts, coconut, pumpkin seeds) and their oils (coconut oil, avocado oil) and lots of vegetables and fruit. I eat virtually no sugar (other than that contained naturally in fruit), potatoes or sweet potatoes, beans or legumes, and no grains or grain products.

Weight Loss Tracker

Start date: May 13, 2011
Total weight loss (updated every Sunday): 19.5 lbs

