My Paleo Eating Journal

Happy Weigh-in Day

Posted on: June 26, 2011

Weekly Weigh-in: 145 lbs

I’ve been a very good girl this week. My first cheat was last night – it was my Dad’s birthday and we had cider and wine, gluten-free Apple Pie for dessert, and I had a thick slice of lemon loaf cake to boot. But otherwise it’s been a good week and my weight reflects that. I’ve reached a big milestone (for me) – I’ve now lost 10 lbs! I’m really feeling good in my body now.

An interesting note about the lemon cake. I hadn’t planned to eat it last night (my step-mum brought it over, a half-loaf for the kids who don’t like apple pie), but while I was washing dishes I saw it there, tempting me, and I had a bite. I soon had another, and thought guiltily that I’d likely end up eating the whole thing (there was about a 1/3 to 1/4 loaf left). However, after I’d eaten the equivalent of one thick slice something interesting happened. I got that “stuffed and uncomfortable” feeling. The one I used to think was the normal way to feel after pigging out on a great meal. But one which I have not experienced in a long time now since my satiety mechanisms started working properly. While I enjoyed the 1/4 roasted sweet potato with dinner, and did have seconds of the salad, I ate until I was feeling satisfied and then had a moderate size piece of pie. After that I was truly done. But it was when I started eating the lemon loaf – and it wasn’t because I was hungry – I soon got that “stuffing myself” feeling. I really didn’t like it. I can’t say I was in any pain, I was mildly uncomfortable, but it was such a turn-off that I didn’t want another bite of the lemon loaf, even though it was very tasty. That’s the first time that my feeling of “having had enough” has overrun my addiction/craving for the sweet stuff. I was really pleased to discover this, and quite happy to stop eating the cake, and pleasantly surprised at how easy it was to stop.

Leave a Reply

The Basics

My way of eating is based on a Paleo/Primal diet and is comprised mainly of saturated animal fat (grass-fed meat, pastured eggs, butter), nuts and seeds (almonds, pecans, macadamia nuts, coconut, pumpkin seeds) and their oils (coconut oil, avocado oil) and lots of vegetables and fruit. I eat virtually no sugar (other than that contained naturally in fruit), potatoes or sweet potatoes, beans or legumes, and no grains or grain products.

Weight Loss Tracker

Start date: May 13, 2011
Total weight loss (updated every Sunday): 19.5 lbs

