My Paleo Eating Journal

Day 28

Posted on: June 12, 2011

Weekly Weigh-In: 146.5 lbs

Breakfast: decaf black tea with raw milk

Lunch: salami, mixed nuts, 2 plums

Dinner: stir-fried ground pork with chinese mushrooms and jicama, served over blanched spinach; glass of red wine

Dessert: one square 90% dark chocoate

Exercise: long bike ride with the dog

Thoughts: Very excited to see that I’ve shed the “period pounds” and am back on track with my weight loss. At this rate I’m just a couple weeks away from my “pre-Paleo” goal weight, and excited to see “how low can I go?”.

A word about potatoes today: I can understand putting grains in the “processed food” category, because we simply could not eat them without that processing. One could argue that cooking food is a form of processing (and I’m sure that raw foodies would agree) but while cooking may make a food more palatable, or more safe (in the case of meat) it’s not like we couldn’t eat the stuff raw if we had to. A person would probably starve to death on a diet of only raw, unprocessed grains because our guts cannot extract nutrients from them in their whole form. So the no-grains thing does make sense to me (even if I leave aside the issue of how the carbs in grains are basically treated like sugar by the body). Mark’s Daily Apple employs similar reasoning for avoiding legumes.

But the potatoes thing has bugged me. How can a whole food/vegetable be bad for you? Then I learned that not all Paleo/Primal folks shun the lowly spud. Mark’s Daily Apple, for example, says they can be a healthy part of the Paleo diet, in moderation of course (or unless you are an elite athlete who needs a glycogen refuel). However, he stresses that it really depends on where you are at in terms of your sugar issues. With respect to that last link, I’m a Samwise Gamgee.

I know that I came into this with what I call a sugar addiction. Mark would explain it in terms of an insulin system that is out of whack due to a high carb/fructose diet. All I know is that when I eat potatoes, particularly sweet potatoes, I can’t stop. I have the same response that I do to eating sugars in other forms – I’m only thinking of that next bite, driven to keep going and savour the “high” of the sweet flavour. Now that I’ve cut sugars and carbs from my diet, I understand what a normal response to food is (it’s good, it’s satisfying, and when I’m full I don’t want any more of it). Any time I cheat now and eat a cheese bun, a cookie, or milk chocolate I can see clearly how intense the experience is. And I recognize now that the same holds true for me with sweet potatoes. Potatoes, for me, falls more under the category of pasta: used as a filler in place of more nutritious (and carb-light) foods but not something I can’t live without.

So, my plan is to keep going without them for now, but I do plan to re-introduce them when I get to a stable weight. Like a recovering addict, I’ll have to stay aware of how they can affect me, and take steps to ensure I don’t go crazy with portion sizes. But I’m looking forward to making my favourite meat loaf recipe (which I make with sweet potatoes instead of regular) again some time soon!

Leave a Reply

The Basics

My way of eating is based on a Paleo/Primal diet and is comprised mainly of saturated animal fat (grass-fed meat, pastured eggs, butter), nuts and seeds (almonds, pecans, macadamia nuts, coconut, pumpkin seeds) and their oils (coconut oil, avocado oil) and lots of vegetables and fruit. I eat virtually no sugar (other than that contained naturally in fruit), potatoes or sweet potatoes, beans or legumes, and no grains or grain products.

Weight Loss Tracker

Start date: May 13, 2011
Total weight loss (updated every Sunday): 19.5 lbs

