My Paleo Eating Journal

Day 24

Posted on: June 8, 2011

Breakfast: coconut blueberry pancakes

Lunch: cheese bun

Dinner: tossed salad with avocado, tomatoes, pine nuts, dried cranberries; oil (avocado) and vinegar (white wine) dressing

Dessert: one square 85% dark chocolate

Thoughts: My kids are both sick with chicken pox and the house is full of carb-heavy foods in an effort to keep them eating (putting them on our diet would be impossible, for reasons too long to go into here). So there’s temptation around. It hadn’t affected me until I got too busy today to eat lunch, and by late afternoon was so hungry that I succumbed to the temptation of a cheese bun. It was delicious, and I felt guilty, but I also noticed once again the different way I eat when it comes to such foods. “Gobbling” is the word that comes to mind. It’s a definite cheat, and my only consolation is that it may only delay weight loss a bit rather than set me back.

Leave a Reply

The Basics

My way of eating is based on a Paleo/Primal diet and is comprised mainly of saturated animal fat (grass-fed meat, pastured eggs, butter), nuts and seeds (almonds, pecans, macadamia nuts, coconut, pumpkin seeds) and their oils (coconut oil, avocado oil) and lots of vegetables and fruit. I eat virtually no sugar (other than that contained naturally in fruit), potatoes or sweet potatoes, beans or legumes, and no grains or grain products.

Weight Loss Tracker

Start date: May 13, 2011
Total weight loss (updated every Sunday): 19.5 lbs

