My Paleo Eating Journal

Day 21

Posted on: June 5, 2011

Weekly Weigh-in: 150 lbs

Breakfast: paleo cereal with mixed berries and milk

Lunch: smoothie (almond butter, spinach, frozen blueberries, milk, coconut cream)

Dinner: sauteed ground pork and beef with chinese mushrooms, water chestnuts, and various herbs and good stuff, wrapped in lettuce leaves

Dessert: 90% dark chocolate

Thoughts: I have not been for a walk or bike ride since Monday. I’m really, really missing it but have been so busy I just haven’t had the chance. I’m hoping to go tomorrow, which will be my last chance before Friday at the earliest. This is the hard part of having Hubby working away from home so often.

I got  my period this week, and I always gain a couple of pounds at this time of the month, so I’m hoping that explains my lack of weight loss this week. I was on track to lose another 2 lbs until that happened, so fingers crossed that this is a female cycle thing and not a stall in my progress. Either that or I’m cheating more than I think I am!

Final thought: my dear mother is visiting again and brought a sampling of dark chocolate ranging from 72% to 90%. I was finding the 72% stuff a bit too sweet, so dove right in to the 90%. I like it, but I think I should back off a bit and do the 80% first, as it was a bit too much for me. Hell, a month ago I would never have believed I’d eat even the crappy dark chocolate in regular bars, let alone find that 72% cacao was “too sweet”. So this is definitely progress. That, plus my ability to enjoy black tea again and this time with zero sugar at all, definitely counts as progress and makes up for the lack of weight loss this week.

Leave a Reply

The Basics

My way of eating is based on a Paleo/Primal diet and is comprised mainly of saturated animal fat (grass-fed meat, pastured eggs, butter), nuts and seeds (almonds, pecans, macadamia nuts, coconut, pumpkin seeds) and their oils (coconut oil, avocado oil) and lots of vegetables and fruit. I eat virtually no sugar (other than that contained naturally in fruit), potatoes or sweet potatoes, beans or legumes, and no grains or grain products.

Weight Loss Tracker

Start date: May 13, 2011
Total weight loss (updated every Sunday): 19.5 lbs

