My Paleo Eating Journal

Day 17

Posted on: June 2, 2011

Breakfast: paleo cereal (chopped walnuts, almonds, pecans, macadamias, sesame seeds, pine nuts, sunflower seeds, shredded coconut toasted in butter) with frozen organic wild blueberries (heated) and 2% milk

Lunch: smoothie (spinach, coconut milk, 2% milk, almond butter, frozen mixed berries)

Gametime Snack (Go Canucks!): homemade kale chips (olive oil and maple-smoked sea salt) and club soda

Dinner: scallops and prosciutto sauteed in olive oil, butter, garlic, and fresh lemon juice served on a bed of baby spinach; glass of red wine

Dessert: 3 small squares of 72% dark mint chocolate

Thoughts: Dark chocolate is allowed in moderation on the Primal/Paleo diet; Mark’s Daily Apple recommends you get as dark as you can. The first dark chocolate I tried was 76% cacao but the last two bars I got were 72%. I’m finding these latter ones a bit sweet. I don’t mean it ruins the flavour – they are delicious! – but it tends to make me feel just a tiny bit like I do when I eat regular chocolate (not nearly as bad though), like my thoughts instantly go to the next piece. I’m wondering if the sugar content of lower cacao bars is higher. So I’m going to experiment with seeing if I can find some of the really dark stuff (like 80% cacao) and compare the experience.

Leave a Reply

The Basics

My way of eating is based on a Paleo/Primal diet and is comprised mainly of saturated animal fat (grass-fed meat, pastured eggs, butter), nuts and seeds (almonds, pecans, macadamia nuts, coconut, pumpkin seeds) and their oils (coconut oil, avocado oil) and lots of vegetables and fruit. I eat virtually no sugar (other than that contained naturally in fruit), potatoes or sweet potatoes, beans or legumes, and no grains or grain products.

Weight Loss Tracker

Start date: May 13, 2011
Total weight loss (updated every Sunday): 19.5 lbs

