My Paleo Eating Journal

Day 16

Posted on: June 1, 2011

Breakfast: leftover coconut pancakes with frozen mixed berries (warmed)

Lunch: salmon “slider”, a small baked-in-house hamburger bun with smoked salmon, bacon, lettuce, and creamy dill sauce; ginger molasses cookie

Dinner: tossed salad with avocado, walnuts, dried cranberries, tomatoes in oil (avocado) and vinegar (red wine)

Evening Snack: handful of paleo trail mix (almonds, cashews, raisins)

Thoughts: once again we ate out today at lunch, on our way home from our holiday. I really, really wanted fish and chips, but we chose a local gourmet hotdog place as it fit with everyone else’s wants. While they supported stopping at a fish and chips place after, I decided after a few minutes that I really didn’t need that. All the meals they served pretty much were on buns and the sliders sounded great. It was truly delicious! The cookie was a definite cheat – my favorite kind!

I also didn’t put in my “exercise” for the last 3 days of our holiday. We brought our dog with us to the beachfront cabin we rented, and I took her out several times a day for a long walk along the beach. While it certainly counts as exercise, it wasn’t enough for me to consider it as such. When the dog and I go for a hike, I march along over hilly terrain for at least 30 – 40 minutes, often longer. Strolling along on a beach, stopping to throw sticks for the dog every now and then, didn’t really strike me as exercise. But I suppose it counts for something.

Leave a Reply

The Basics

My way of eating is based on a Paleo/Primal diet and is comprised mainly of saturated animal fat (grass-fed meat, pastured eggs, butter), nuts and seeds (almonds, pecans, macadamia nuts, coconut, pumpkin seeds) and their oils (coconut oil, avocado oil) and lots of vegetables and fruit. I eat virtually no sugar (other than that contained naturally in fruit), potatoes or sweet potatoes, beans or legumes, and no grains or grain products.

Weight Loss Tracker

Start date: May 13, 2011
Total weight loss (updated every Sunday): 19.5 lbs

