My Paleo Eating Journal

Day 13

Posted on: May 29, 2011

Breakfast: paleo cereal (chopped nuts and seeds toasted in butter) with mixed frozen berries (warmed) and 2% millk

Lunch: tossed salad with tomtoes, pecans, dried cranberries, avocado, with oil (avocado) and vinegar (red wine) dressing

Snack: handful of paleo trail mix (almonds, cashews, raisins), handful of green grapes; one trail mix cookie (see below)

Dinner: one beer (went to visit the neighbours and they had my favorite); waldorf salad with hard boiled eggs

Dessert: 1/2 serving (1/4 bar) 72% dark chocolate (with raspberries in it)

Thoughts: I bought some cookies for the kids today at the local farm store/organic market. They were on sale. But the kids didn’t like them (too many nuts and seeds) so I ended up eating one. It was an interesting experience.

I took one bite to test it (thought maybe they were stale) and I couldn’t stop thinking about it afterwards. It felt like a craving, not something healthy. Still, I ended up eating the cookie. This was actually before lunch, and I found myself suddenly not looking forward to the salad I had been looking forward to all morning. Sugar seems to make me want more of the same, and forgo non-sweet items like veggies. Of course, part of me has known this all along, but I’ve never observed the process within myself so closely. With the foods I’m eating on this diet, including dark chocolate, I enjoy the food but I don’t get this desperate, almost anxious drive to eat more and more. I eat and enjoy until I’m satisified, and then no more. Anyways, I made the salad nevertheless and then enjoyed it once I was eating it.

This was an interesting experiment in how sugar affects my body. I know that when eating a meal with potatoes (sweet potatoes especially) or pasta, or rice I experience the same drive, the same almost frantic need to keep eating. It’s not about satisfying my hunger, and I always end up eating until I’m uncomfortably stuffed. My plan is to start introducing small amounts of sweet potato and yam into my diet after I reach my weight loss plateau, and see how that goes (as I really don’t believe in condemning any one item outright) but now I understand that I have to be very very careful, as I’ve proven to myself that I lose all ability to self-regulate when it comes to carbs. It may be that, like an alcoholic, I will not be able to handle even small amounts (I’ve been known to eat every roasted sweet potato left on the tray, after everybody else has finished eating). On the other hand, if the theories about insulin response are correct then my insulin system may normalize after being on this diet for a while and I’ll be able to handle it. But all of this assures me that I’m on the right path going low-carb. Great learning experience!

Leave a Reply

The Basics

My way of eating is based on a Paleo/Primal diet and is comprised mainly of saturated animal fat (grass-fed meat, pastured eggs, butter), nuts and seeds (almonds, pecans, macadamia nuts, coconut, pumpkin seeds) and their oils (coconut oil, avocado oil) and lots of vegetables and fruit. I eat virtually no sugar (other than that contained naturally in fruit), potatoes or sweet potatoes, beans or legumes, and no grains or grain products.

Weight Loss Tracker

Start date: May 13, 2011
Total weight loss (updated every Sunday): 19.5 lbs

