My Paleo Eating Journal

Day 11

Posted on: May 27, 2011

Breakfast: coconut flour pancakes with frozen mixed berries (that were heated until warm and juicy)

Lunch: paleo trail mix (almonds, cashews, and raisins)

Dinner: coconut chicken fingers served with lemon juice and gomae salad

Thoughts: It was a day of “treating without cheating” as I explored some new recipes. I woke up hungry this morning, probably because of my light dinner last night. I decided to try making some “Paleo-legal” pancakes. Since I’m allowing dairy, I chose this recipe. I didn’t even miss the maple syrup – the berries were a wonderful topping. Other topping suggestions are frying sliced bananas and walnut pieces in butter – I’ll have to try that one another time.

Lunch was eaten on the go, as the kids and I had beach/geocaching playdate with some friends. I actually wasn’t even hungry until the drive home around 3:30 so I munched on my “trail mix” and that was all I needed to get me through until dinner.

For dinner I really wanted to try this recipe for chicken fingers, but our local farmer was out of chicken. So eager was I that I actually broke down and bought (gasp!) packaged chicken from a store. I haven’t done that in ages. I justified it by telling myself I shouldn’t waste good farm-raised, pastured chicken on an untested recipe. The chicken itself was delicious, despite the fact that I’m a lousy chef and burnt some of it trying to cook it through (I can never figure out pan temps when I’m cooking meat). I sprinkled it with lemon juice before serving, which added a nice “bite” to the flavour. I didn’t have any salad, but I had baby spinach so I decided to attempt one of my favourite spinach dishes: gomae salad, which I always order when going to a Japanese restaurant. I made the sauce out of rice vinegar, soy sauce, and toasted sesame seeds that I ground in my mortar and pestle, but I left out the sugar. (I didn’t even realize there was sugar in it, but that explains why I love it so much). The salad didn’t quite taste like the authentic stuff I’ve come to know, but it was quite yummy nonetheless. And the blanching reduces the size of the spinach so much that a huge amount can be eaten in a small serving, so even though there were no veggies in my breakfast or lunch, I definitely got a good dose of greens today!

Leave a Reply

The Basics

My way of eating is based on a Paleo/Primal diet and is comprised mainly of saturated animal fat (grass-fed meat, pastured eggs, butter), nuts and seeds (almonds, pecans, macadamia nuts, coconut, pumpkin seeds) and their oils (coconut oil, avocado oil) and lots of vegetables and fruit. I eat virtually no sugar (other than that contained naturally in fruit), potatoes or sweet potatoes, beans or legumes, and no grains or grain products.

Weight Loss Tracker

Start date: May 13, 2011
Total weight loss (updated every Sunday): 19.5 lbs

