My Paleo Eating Journal

Day 10

Posted on: May 26, 2011

Breakfast: home-grown bacon and farm-fresh eggs fried in the bacon fat; rooibos tea with 2% milk

Lunch: hvarti cheese, almonds, cashews, raisins

Snack: 1 piece of dark chocolate (almond/cranberries)

Dinner: smoothie with coconut milk, 2% milk, almond butter, baby spinach, frozen berries

Dessert: 1 piece of dark chocolate (almond/cranberries)

Thoughts: I can’t seem to stop weighing myself, but in this case it’s not because I’m worried, it’s because every other day seems to bring good news. This morning I was 151.5 and I’m only halfway through this week. Sometimes I cannot believe that losing weight is this easy, but then again I never appreciated how heavily carb- and sugar-based my diet was. I also don’t feel like I’m missing out on much (I proved last week that I can still enjoy yummy things in moderation), and I really believe that being able to eat fats (good ones, of course, in the Paleo fashion) adds greatly to the feeling of satisfaction in my meals. I can’t help but think that a diet without carbs AND satisfying fats would be a very difficult thing to stick with!

Leave a Reply

The Basics

My way of eating is based on a Paleo/Primal diet and is comprised mainly of saturated animal fat (grass-fed meat, pastured eggs, butter), nuts and seeds (almonds, pecans, macadamia nuts, coconut, pumpkin seeds) and their oils (coconut oil, avocado oil) and lots of vegetables and fruit. I eat virtually no sugar (other than that contained naturally in fruit), potatoes or sweet potatoes, beans or legumes, and no grains or grain products.

Weight Loss Tracker

Start date: May 13, 2011
Total weight loss (updated every Sunday): 19.5 lbs

