My Paleo Eating Journal

Day 8

Posted on: May 24, 2011

Breakfast: smoothie (coconut milk, conventional milk, baby spinach leaves, almond butter, frozen mixed berries)

Lunch: tossed salad with grilled prawns

Dinner: leftover pork (see Day 7) wrapped in lettuce leaves; glass of red wine; 2 pieces of dark chocolate for dessert

Exercise: long bike ride with the dog

Thoughts: We ate out at a restaurant today for lunch. It was one that serves whole, healthy foods (no french fries on the menu!) and I was able to order a fresh salad with grilled prawns. It came with a whole piece of Naan bread grilled with garlic butter. I confess I ate half of it. But I did pass up on dessert and a stop at a chocolate shop (they didn’t have any good dark chocolate anyways!). After dinner I had two pieces of the good stuff. Mum goes home tomorrow, so the wine will stop flowing. I know it’s okay in moderation on the Paleo diet, and I don’t drink it usually unless we’re out (which doesn’t happen often) but I think this weekend I’ve made up for the last several weeks!

I have to say this is the “nicest” diet I’ve ever been on. While I am giving up some foods I like, I’m “allowed” to eat many flavourful and satisfying foods. Like coconut milk, and anything that is fatty! It really, really helps with the cravings. In fact, I’m finding myself not having any sugar cravings again (now that the rhubarb pie is a memory!).

Leave a Reply

The Basics

My way of eating is based on a Paleo/Primal diet and is comprised mainly of saturated animal fat (grass-fed meat, pastured eggs, butter), nuts and seeds (almonds, pecans, macadamia nuts, coconut, pumpkin seeds) and their oils (coconut oil, avocado oil) and lots of vegetables and fruit. I eat virtually no sugar (other than that contained naturally in fruit), potatoes or sweet potatoes, beans or legumes, and no grains or grain products.

Weight Loss Tracker

Start date: May 13, 2011
Total weight loss (updated every Sunday): 19.5 lbs

