My Paleo Eating Journal

Day 6

Posted on: May 22, 2011

Breakfast: “paleo cereal” (see Day 5 for ingredients) with fruit and conventional milk; honeybush tea with milk

Lunch: a big salad with avocado, walnuts, carrots, bell pepper, dried cranberries

Exercise: a long brisk walk with my mum and the dog; (she brought her pedometer and it was 9900 steps)

Snack: small handful of almonds, mandarin orange, 2 pieces dark chocolate

Dinner: leftovers from Last Night; one small slice of leftover rhubarb pie

Thoughts: I’ve never liked dark chocolate, so the current craze towards the high-cocoa dark stuff didn’t excite me. However, I’ve also never had the good stuff, only the dark chocolate that coats commercial brand bonbons. Today my Mum brought out a bar of gourmet dark chocolate (76%) that she bought at the Organic Market yesterday, and I sampled a small piece with my orange. Wow. Just…wow. It was really tasty, but not at all the same way as regular chocolate. I did take one more small piece, but then I was satisfied. I never thought I could eat chocolate and not want to eat the whole bar of it! But without the sugar giving me a drug-high sensation, I was just able to enjoy it on a much more mellow level. It’s also not the sort of thing that I would want to eat in large quantities – it’s rich, but not in a fat/creamy way. Just a real flavour punch to it. I’m very pleased to make this discovery. I just might indulge on occasion when I feel like treating myself a bit, knowing that I’m not going to be tempted to eat the whole thing. And, of course, it’s supposed to be good for you!

Leave a Reply

The Basics

My way of eating is based on a Paleo/Primal diet and is comprised mainly of saturated animal fat (grass-fed meat, pastured eggs, butter), nuts and seeds (almonds, pecans, macadamia nuts, coconut, pumpkin seeds) and their oils (coconut oil, avocado oil) and lots of vegetables and fruit. I eat virtually no sugar (other than that contained naturally in fruit), potatoes or sweet potatoes, beans or legumes, and no grains or grain products.

Weight Loss Tracker

Start date: May 13, 2011
Total weight loss (updated every Sunday): 19.5 lbs

