My Paleo Eating Journal

Day 5

Posted on: May 21, 2011

Breakfast: almonds, pecans, walnuts, pumpkin seeds, sesame seeds, shredded coconut all toasted in butter, served with conventional milk and defrosted frozen mixed berries

Lunch: bacon and a tossed salad with avocado

Dinner: ground pork with chinese mushrooms, water chestnuts, green onions, celery, ginger, and garlic; served with lettuce leaves; large glass of red wine

Dessert: mum’s amazing rhubarb pie, total cheat!

Thoughts: My mother is visiting and I knew she would be bringing her famous rhubarb pie. I did at least ask her not to bring her usual two pies, and instead just bring the one, so I consider that a small victory in willpower. I’ve known all week she’d be coming and I’ve been planning this cheat since then. I passed up cookies, chocolate, and ice cream today (always treats around for the kids when Grandma is in town) just so I could have dessert without feeling guilty. I had two slices and might have one more tomorrow. I don’t feel guilty at all, lol: life is too short to forever give up on a little slice of heaven. She only visits a couple times a year and I would rather stay overweight than face a life without ever eating mum’s pies again!

Dinner was amazing. Brought back the Paleo love. This is actually a classic Chinese dish that my mother has served since I was very young (she was born in Hong Kong and spent much of her youth there). I forgot how incredibly delicious it is, and it fit perfectly with the Paleo diet (other than the dash of Oyster Sauce, which is admittedly full of MSG and other crap; and the tbsp of corn starch she used to thicken the sauce). You separate leaves of iceberg lettuce, cup them in your hand, fill with scoops of the ground pork mixture, wrap it up and eat like a burrito. Dee-lish! And, we have leftovers for tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

The Basics

My way of eating is based on a Paleo/Primal diet and is comprised mainly of saturated animal fat (grass-fed meat, pastured eggs, butter), nuts and seeds (almonds, pecans, macadamia nuts, coconut, pumpkin seeds) and their oils (coconut oil, avocado oil) and lots of vegetables and fruit. I eat virtually no sugar (other than that contained naturally in fruit), potatoes or sweet potatoes, beans or legumes, and no grains or grain products.

Weight Loss Tracker

Start date: May 13, 2011
Total weight loss (updated every Sunday): 19.5 lbs

