My Paleo Eating Journal

Day 4

Posted on: May 20, 2011

Breakfast: rooibos tea with conventional milk; smoothie with frozen mixed berries, almond butter, plain yogurt, conventional milk, coconut milk (and a tiny – cheating! – dash of white grape juice)

Lunch: picnic at the riverside; hvarti cheese, almonds, cashews, raisins

Dinner: bacon (home-grown) and eggs (from the farmer down the road)

Thoughts: Can’t believe how much I enjoyed my smoothie this morning. Instead of eating as soon as I got up I just had my tea and then waited about 30 – 45 minutes until I felt hungry. This is one change I’ve noticed, I don’t seem to be as ravenously hungry in the mornings. Wonder if my usual carb-heavy dinners were responsible? I also know that since I stopped drinking black tea (the acidity of which used to be unsettling on my empty stomach) I don’t feel like I need to eat something with my tea.

I coudn’t resist weighing myself this morning; scale said 151.5. I almost couldn’t believe my eyes. I was 155 on Sunday. Now, I realize you shouldn’t weigh yourself every day because 1) weight fluctuates and 2) scales are generally not that accurate. However, it would appear that there has been some weight loss this week. Part of me can’t believe it could be this easy, but then it wasn’t until recently that I realized just how much sugar I was consuming on a daily basis, especially when I considered carbs too. I suppose it should not be too much of a surprise, then, that going from a hefty sugar/carb load to virtually none would produce some impressive results (if one accepts that sugars and carbs underlie fat accumulation; which is the theory I’m going on right now).

Leave a Reply

The Basics

My way of eating is based on a Paleo/Primal diet and is comprised mainly of saturated animal fat (grass-fed meat, pastured eggs, butter), nuts and seeds (almonds, pecans, macadamia nuts, coconut, pumpkin seeds) and their oils (coconut oil, avocado oil) and lots of vegetables and fruit. I eat virtually no sugar (other than that contained naturally in fruit), potatoes or sweet potatoes, beans or legumes, and no grains or grain products.

Weight Loss Tracker

Start date: May 13, 2011
Total weight loss (updated every Sunday): 19.5 lbs

