My Paleo Eating Journal

Day 2

Posted on: May 18, 2011

Breakfast: smoothie (raw milk, almond butter, frozen mixed berries, banana); rooibos tea with raw milk

Lunch: hard boiled eggs mixed with a dash of mayo, green onions, and a sprinkle of sesame seeds served over mixed baby salad greens; one energy ball

Exercise: spent about 2 hours hoeing the trails in our woods

Dinner: I cheated. Took the kids to McDonalds because I needed to get out and didn’t feel like making dinner. Ended up having a McChicken, most of the fries, and a bit of the iced tea. Feeling a bit guilty but damn, it tasted good.

Thoughts: My tummy has been feeling…”sensitive” for the last couple of days. Kind of like I feel when I eat rich foods. I think it’s all the nuts, and that I overdid it with the devilled eggs yesterday. The Paleo food pyramid has nuts on the third level (of four levels, from the bottom) and I think yesterday nuts were too dominant. Will be thinking about this in the days ahead. Also portion sizes (as mentioned yesterday). The energy balls I made last night didn’t turn out very well; I used a new jar of almond butter and got too much oil in the mix so the balls were soggy. I then had to add more ground nuts/seeds as well as some coconut flour to get them to hold together. When I ate one it felt like nut/seed overload. So this morning I decided to skip the nut-cereal and try having a smoothie. I added banana to try and sweeten it, but frankly I just don’t like the flavour of bananas much so will leave it out next time. Otherwise the smoothie went down better than I thought it would. I wasn’t hungry until noon, so the smoothie obviously satisfied for breakfast. Have been craving egg salad sandwiches. Decided to serve it over lettuce instead. The lettuce is a bit bitter; not a great choice. Can’t say I’m loving this meal.

Had my first big carb craving this evening. I was hungry and eating meat and veggies or eggs simply didn’t appeal to me at all. Going through my first rough spot, missing carbs and sick of the allowed foods. It’s made me realize how much I crave carbs sometimes. I’m not going to beat myself up about cheating tonight. Once in a while is okay. I just need to make sure it doesn’t happen often. My stomach has been slightly upset again. Not sure if this is due to diet or what, since I’ve been reducing carbs for some time now and more or less eating well. I guess I’m just not really that into meat? Well, then again I did have a McChicken, and would have enjoyed a hamburger too. Guess I need to admit the carbs addiction is stronger than I thought. I need to find some more recipes with a wow factor. Missing eating foods that I get excited about. Again, likely evidence of my carb addiction. At least I’ve been exercising well this week. Stomach doesn’t feel any the worse for my high carb meal.

Leave a Reply

The Basics

My way of eating is based on a Paleo/Primal diet and is comprised mainly of saturated animal fat (grass-fed meat, pastured eggs, butter), nuts and seeds (almonds, pecans, macadamia nuts, coconut, pumpkin seeds) and their oils (coconut oil, avocado oil) and lots of vegetables and fruit. I eat virtually no sugar (other than that contained naturally in fruit), potatoes or sweet potatoes, beans or legumes, and no grains or grain products.

Weight Loss Tracker

Start date: May 13, 2011
Total weight loss (updated every Sunday): 19.5 lbs

