My Paleo Eating Journal

Intro Post

Posted on: May 16, 2011

For the last few weeks I have been transitioning into a low-carb diet, which essentially means removing rice, pasta, and potatoes from my meals. At the same time I began weaning myself off the daily dose of sugar I get in my morning mug (or two) of tea, and cutting down on sweets in general. Now I’m finally ready to take the plunge and cut out sugar completely and all grains. This style of eating most closely resembles the Paleo Diet, and I’ve gotten some great recipe ideas from various Paleo blogs. But I am including dairy in my diet.

This blog is more of a journal for me than anything else. Here I will log my meals, exercise, weekly weigh-ins, and my thoughts and feelings about this new way of eating. A few things to make clear: I’m not counting calories, measuring portion sizes, or logging my walks with a pedometer. I’m not trying to convince anybody that they should eat like me. I’m not trying to provide a resource for all things Paleo. I’m not out to prove that my way is the right or best way. It’s just one person’s journey, mine.

The point is to keep track of how well I stick to the diet and to track any weight loss accordingly, so I have a record of these things to evaluate my progress more objectively. Also to share some thoughts that would likely bore readers of my other blogs. Writing (or talking) is how I process thoughts and ideas, so this is therapeutic for me. If I meet my goal of losing weight and controlling my sugar addiction I’ll consider this a success. If I don’t, well, time for Plan B.

Leave a Reply

The Basics

My way of eating is based on a Paleo/Primal diet and is comprised mainly of saturated animal fat (grass-fed meat, pastured eggs, butter), nuts and seeds (almonds, pecans, macadamia nuts, coconut, pumpkin seeds) and their oils (coconut oil, avocado oil) and lots of vegetables and fruit. I eat virtually no sugar (other than that contained naturally in fruit), potatoes or sweet potatoes, beans or legumes, and no grains or grain products.

Weight Loss Tracker

Start date: May 13, 2011
Total weight loss (updated every Sunday): 19.5 lbs

