My Paleo Eating Journal

Day 1

Posted on: May 16, 2011

Weight: 155 lbs

Breakfast: a mix of chopped almonds, pecans, and walnuts plus some shredded coconut and a few raisins, sauteed in homemade butter (from raw milk) served with raw milk; a big mug (about 350 mLs) of organic vanilla rooibos tea with raw milk

Lunch: tossed salad with mixed baby greens, half an avocado, chopped walnuts, a handful of dried cranberries, one shredded carrot, a few cherry tomatoes; tossed with avocado oil and red wine vinegar

Dinner: coconut/almond pork over broccoli slaw; it was a new recipe, turned out to be rather bland and I didn’t eat much of it

Evening Snack: unusual, but to make up for not eating much of my dinner I made some energy balls (ground nuts, sesame seeds, and pumpkin seeds mixed with almond butter, vanilla extract, and chopped figs)

Exercise: long bike ride with the dog (approx. 1 hour)

Thoughts: I’ve been eating meat-and-veg dinners for a few weeks now, and have noticed my evening sugar cravings are not happening nearly as often. Tonight, however, I didn’t finish my dinner and now the idea of eating something savoury isn’t appealing to me. I want something, but not sure what. The energy balls didn’t turn out very well; I used a new jar of almond butter and got too much oil in the mix so the balls were soggy. I then had to add more ground nuts/seeds as well as some coconut flour to get them to hold together. When I ate one it felt like nut/seed overload. I also skipped the maple syrup this time and noticed they lacked that “wow” factor. I’m considering the research that suggests fructose in honey does not affect the body the same way as pure fructose (or sugar), and may consider adding honey to my diet later on. For now I’m cutting out any extra sugars.

Leave a Reply

The Basics

My way of eating is based on a Paleo/Primal diet and is comprised mainly of saturated animal fat (grass-fed meat, pastured eggs, butter), nuts and seeds (almonds, pecans, macadamia nuts, coconut, pumpkin seeds) and their oils (coconut oil, avocado oil) and lots of vegetables and fruit. I eat virtually no sugar (other than that contained naturally in fruit), potatoes or sweet potatoes, beans or legumes, and no grains or grain products.

Weight Loss Tracker

Start date: May 13, 2011
Total weight loss (updated every Sunday): 19.5 lbs

